Lancaster Smokehouse

Once upon a time, I would spend several months of each year waiting for the Kitchener Ribfest, as I knew that attending this festival would be the only way that a hungry Waterloo boy could fulfill his need for delicious, smokey ribs and pulled pork. But now, in 2013, I care about Ribfest significantly less. Because I have the Lancaster Smokehouse.

I first ate at Hogtails – the still existent precursor to the Lancaster Smokehouse – just a few months after it opened back in 2010ish. Food was great, but the place was too small and way too busy. Then the owners of my beloved BBQ joint took over The Lancaster Tavern, a local landmark turned dive bar. Now I can eat the best food imaginable in a nice big comfortable setting, while listening to live blues (on Fridays and Saturdays).

I’m going to keep this review brief. There’s really not much to say other than the food at the Lancaster Smokehouse is the best food I’ve eaten within the confines of the Kitchener-Waterloo area. For serial. They use locally sourced meat/produce, everything is homemade, the portions are magnificently gigantic, and the price is fair. If I had one of those ultra-lean body types, I would eat at the Lancaster Smokehouse every day.

I apologize in advance for the quality of these pictures. I didn’t care about capturing this moment – once the food landed on my table, all I wanted to do was put it into my face at full force.

I had my favourite food in the universe – the ribs. A half-rack with two sides will likely leave you bringing some food home for a late-night snack. I got the onion rings and mac n’ cheese for my sides. The onion rings are out of this world – doughy, salty, huge, and somehow not all that greasy. I like saucy food, so I dipped my onion rings in a mixture of the sweet and smokey BBQ sauces that are waiting for you on the table. I also put some sweet sauce on my ribs, mixed with a tad of their “fullilove” hot sauce (you have to ask for that).

ImageMy mom ordered the fried chicken, which I have eaten in the past. It’s also amongst the best fried chicken I’ve ever eaten. Perfectly seasoned, the breading is nice and crispy, the chicken moist and again, not greasy.

Image

My sister got a little experimental and had the fried oyster po’ boy sandwich, which was topped with bacon, remoulade, lettuce, and tomato. I had a bite of it, and it was really good as well.

Image

I feel like I’m running out of synonyms for “best effing thing I’ve ever tasted.” But that’s how I’d define pretty much everything I’ve eaten at this lovely establishment. My bro got the brisket, which he devoured. In the past I’ve tried their chicken wings, which are smoked and grilled as opposed to fried – also, they’re huge. And perfect. They’re like if Jesus raised chickens and cooked the wings himself.

If there’s one place in Kitchener-Waterloo that you should go to for food, this is it. Honestly, I don’t know what else to tell you. GO HERE.

Lancaster Smokehouse

Lancaster Smokehouse Southern Bar B Que on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

